top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureDresslikeBway

Jane Bruce

The endearing new Broadway show, Jagged Little Pill, from the music of Alanis Morissette, teaches us to be vulnerable. Which is exactly what debut star Jane Bruce is doing through her acting, singing, and songwriting. The complex show that connects to so many people’s hearts, is showing Jane Bruce a lot too. Although she loves sharing the story of Jagged Little Pill, through her empathic songwriting, she shares her own stories. From the American Repertory Theatre in Cambridge, to center stage on Broadway, Jane Bruce is a part of the ensemble, also understudies MJ and Bella. 


How did you get started in the theatre industry? What is your ‘theatre love-story’?

I was always a bit of an outcast from a young age, but we wrote an "opera" with our choir teacher in 5th grade, and it was like something in me came alive! I totally ate it up and decided there and then that I wanted to be an actor. I was definitely the intensely eccentric theatre kid all throughout middle and high school, but theatre really helped me find myself and a community of people that I could connect with. 


Your music is very authentic and expressive, where do you find inspiration for your songwriting? What do you love most about songwriting?

I started writing songs in high school instead of writing in a journal, so for me writing was always coming from a place of looking for a way to dump all of my uncomfy feelings. My favorite tunes have happened when I feel sort of pregnant with an emotion or feeling I don't fully understand or can't put words to, so I pick up my guitar and just sing/word vomit it out, and generally feel much better afterwards! I think it took me a while to trust that I could write really honest songs without worrying that my mom and friends would be scared for me, but immersing myself in Alanis' music through the process of working on Jagged Little Pill has really helped in that regard. In addition to Alanis, I take a lot of inspiration from Laura Marling, Joni Mitchell, Shawn Colvin, Brandi Carlile, Madison Cunningham... Lots of ladies! I love when I find an album or song I totally lose myself in and can't stop listening to; often I'll have a big burst of writing after being inspired by something else. I love the relief of finishing a song and realizing that the song helped me understand something about myself that I didn't before. Such an amazing feeling. 


Jagged Little Pill covers so many important topics, how do you feel knowing that the show is helping so many people? What is the best part about being involved with the show? 

I am so proud to be a part of a show that is actively trying to talk about hard and real topics. I've learned so much in the process, and I'm so impressed with how the entire creative team took the time for all of us to educate ourselves as a group along the way. My favorite message in JLP is that if you allow yourself to be vulnerable and ask for help, and talk about what you're going through, and find space to have empathy for the journey of others you will receive such catharsis and connection as a result. That is an experience and a message that all humans can take something from, and I truly hope the show continues to change lives. It's certainly changed mine!


How are you keeping positive and busy during these crazy times? What’s the biggest thing you’ve learned during the past several months?

It definitely hasn't been easy! I feel like I've been on a total roller coaster, going between feeling really optimistic and grateful for the unique aspects of this time, and feeling totally depressed and worn out by all of the stress that this much uncertainty puts on a person. I was really fortunate to be able to spend the majority of the spring and summer with my family in Utah, and that time was really restorative, and special for my family to all be together again for such an extended amount of time. Creatively I've been working on a theater commision for South Coast Repertory Theater, which I'm super excited about! It's not a traditional musical (I don't think), but I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how it evolves. I think the biggest thing I've learned, and am still learning, is how to be gentle with myself and focus on taking joy from the action of making art and not the results. It's very bizarre to finally have an enormous dream and career achievement come true (broadway debut!), and then have the whole industry shut down for who knows how long right as I felt like my foot was finally in the door. So I'm trying not to plan, or spiral about how not-busy I am and enjoy the downtime. 


What advice do you have for young people wanting to be an actor or singer/songwriter? 

I think acting and song-writing are both art forms where you can train and train and train and learn all of these different techniques (which I think is SO important! Yay learning!), but it all goes to a different level if you couple that with a continued study of yourself! I love that both crafts allow me to investigate myself and my own humanity, and the humanity of others. It can definitely feel like there are these unspoken (or sometimes spoken) standards and rules of what is "right" or acceptable, and I think you have to keep reminding yourself that you can't control how anyone else perceives you in any respect, and you'll be much happier and more creatively fulfilled if you always allow yourself to play and be messy and vulnerable and free! It's definitely easier said than done, but I think there's a big pay off. And be nice!! Never stop learning and growing with grace, even if you get crazy famous. 


Thank you so much to Jane for taking the time to do this! Make sure to follow her on Instagram @JaneyBrucey



64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page