top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureDresslikeBway

@Basically_Broadway

From Mamma Mia to The Phantom of the Opera, her theatre story doesn’t start out particularly common. Still, theatre has a way of capturing hearts, and that’s exactly what happened to Zoe Ennis. Better known in the theatre community as @Basically_Broadway, she’s sharing her light and love for theatre one Instagram post at a time. An actor, singer, dancer, student, and Broadway influencer. Zoe has a lot of titles, but what stays true in her heart is her passions. Theatre has been a crucial part of Zoe’s life for as long as she can remember, however, she shares about how her love of theatre started and how it’s impacted her. As well as diving into how important taking care of yourself is, especially for creative endeavors.


What is your theatre love story? What was the first show you saw? What was the first show you performed in?

The first show I saw on Broadway was Mamma Mia!. It’s so ironic because at the time I was so young and looking back, I remember I didn’t want to go at all. After act one, I was hooked. I ended up absolutely loving the show and realizing that there was simply nothing else like sitting in a beautiful theater full of strangers yet feeling like one. There was just something so exhilarating and bonding about it. The Phantom of the Opera was the first show I truly fell in love with after watching the 25th Anniversary recording. That was the first musical that left me speechless and wanting more. I was just so blown away by how powerful it was. The first show I really performed in was most likely The Nutcracker when I was really young. I was a dancer for almost ten years, and that was a yearly tradition. It’s such a fun ballet, and the score is just so timeless.


When did you start performing? As you’ve grown, how has your maturity impacted how you view performing and theatre as a whole?

I was first exposed to being on stage when I was really young (maybe three or four). I was a ballet dancer for the majority of my childhood until reaching middle school, and that obviously came with a lot of performance opportunities. It hit me as I got older that I really wasn’t passionate about dancing, but about the performing and storytelling aspect of it. When I turned nine, I started taking acting classes and I’ve been in love with the craft ever since. Maturity has just deepened the world of theatre for me. It turned from a fun hobby into something that felt like a form of escapism. Maturity made me realize just how mindful and spiritual the art truly is. As I got older, it turned from something where I would just go onstage, smile, and do my best to “entertain” into something where I would put myself out there with the motivation of authentically telling a story and impacting others in the process. It truly is an activity that requires all of your mind power. I just have so much respect for the craft and for those who practice it. It’s so hard to put all of yourself out there like that, and to do it with such confidence and passion is incredible. It’s so moving.


You’ve done both community and high school theatre, what are the main differences between the two? What do you love about each of them?

It really depends! I’ve seen some cases where high school theatre is more casual than community theatre and vice-versa. I think high school theatre is nice because of how small and social the environment is, the fact that it’s built into your education, and the fact that you get to see the people you’re working with every day in class. Community theatre is nice because it’s a break from high school life, you get to meet new artists, and I feel sometimes that there is a greater focus on the fact that you’re there to do a job. Both are really great learning experiences.


What is the Basically Broadway story? Was it just something you stumbled into out of passion, or did you always hope it would create a huge platform?

I never anticipated it to become what it is. In fact, it was actually meant to be the opposite of a huge platform. I first started the account the summer before beginning middle school, and it was actually a The Phantom of the Opera fan page at first (a lot of my followers know how obsessed I am with that show). The initial purpose of the account was to find a small, intimate community who loved the show as much as I did. I was a middle schooler obsessed with a musical about a masked man who haunts an opera house, and I didn’t really know anyone else who had even heard of it. I made a lot of really good friends via the account and was soon exposed to more musicals through them. The account slowly began to feature musicals other than Phantom, and I changed the name to @Basically_Broadway after a few years. I was really set on keeping myself anonymous for the first few years (believe it or not, I was afraid to even tell my closest friends about the account), but the account had become a really influential part of my life and it soon felt right to introduce myself to all the people I was spending so much virtual time with. My account surprisingly really grew, and with the release of TikTok I started making Instagram reels and short relatable videos about theatre. I cannot believe what it’s grown to become, and I’m so thankful for the community of people. I just love reading the comments people leave and knowing that there are people out there who get it. The individuality and experiences of everyone are really amazing. It’s really, really cool and it’s been a really fun experience. I would tell anyone out there who’s thinking of starting something to just do it. When you put what you’re passionate about into the world and be yourself, you’ll attract your kind of people.


How do you get yourself out of creative slumps? Whether that is performing, making content, or other creative endeavors.

Oh wow, it’s so hard! With performing, if my mental health outside of the rehearsal room isn’t well, it’s so much harder to really get into character and into the moment. It’s really important to put yourself first, and I think that especially applies to when you’re doing a really draining show. I try to get out of creative slumps by taking a step back, taking a break, and then doing something that reminds me why I love theatre and the arts. With creating, it’s a whole other story. My inspiration is so inconsistent. I have a playlist that I go through of some of my favorite “edit” songs to just try and imagine some ideas while taking a walk or something. As odd as it sounds, I don’t really have a specific schedule for the creation of reels. I usually just wait until I have a random light-bulb moment.


Have you gotten any cool opportunities through your account? What were those experiences like?

Yes! I was really fortunate to be able to have some really incredible experiences before the Broadway shutdown. Some of these opportunities included attending the Pretty Woman Broadway Cast Album release party with Andy Karl and Samantha Barks and attending the Six The Musical first Broadway preview. I’ve gotten to collaborate with some really cool brands and people that I really admire over the years as well such as Atlantic Records, Sony Broadway, 567 Broadway, Reward the Fan, and more. They’ve all been really exciting. I just really love meeting the people involved in the industry. I’m honestly always internally freaking out whenever I get to have these experiences because of how surreal it is.


The Broadway industry is a tough one, to begin with, but with the pandemic, it’s even tougher now. Has the pandemic changed the way you view performing and Broadway? Good or bad?

The recent revelations and acknowledgments of what goes on behind the doors of Broadway have deeply gutted me. It felt like taking off rose-colored glasses and seeing the industry for what it truly is. These acknowledgments are vital for things to get better and move in the right direction, and it’s about time that honesty prevails. I have definitely lost a lot of respect for the industry, but have gained a lot of respect for those who have stepped up and spoken out.

The pandemic definitely made me realize how irreplaceable performing is. I’m even more grateful for it now than I ever was, and I’m so happy I’ve been able to do some productions post the shutdown. Like many others, my mental health faltered a bit throughout the past year and that led to some artistic struggles. Nevertheless, theatre remains a really safe and healthy outlet for me.


What show has made you into a better person? (Whether that is a show you’ve seen or a show you performed in.) What did you take away from that show?

I would have to say Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812. I wish I could personally thank Dave Malloy and Rachel Chavkin for bringing that piece of art into the world. I remember I would lay in bed with my headphones on listening to the OBCR and crying because I just felt so understood and comforted by Malloy’s score. The orchestrations are absolutely insane in the way they capture emotions so authentically. That moment at the very end of the show where Pierre sees the giant comet grace the sky is absolutely breathtaking. It’s such a moment of enlightenment for Pierre, and everyone in the audience can just so deeply feel exactly what he is feeling. That musical has given me so much hope and joy. It reminds me on my bad days why life is beautiful. The show is just so brilliant, and I deeply hope it is reborn soon.


Where do you see Basically Broadway going in the future? What are your hopes and plans for your account?

Oh gosh, I have no idea. I honestly never thought it would come this far. I hope to maybe start doing some vlogs of my NYC trips once Broadway reopens. I plan to continue and expand with making reels and TikToks, for sure. For right now though, I just want to work to remind as many people as possible why they love theatre. It’s so hard to be so withdrawn from live theatre right now, and I want to make people happy by keeping their love for the art alive. That feels like a responsibility for all creators right now, to make others happy and spread hope for the future.


Who are the females in the theatre industry that you look up to most? Why?

Oh my gosh, there are so many! Rachel Chavkin is absolutely brilliant and I love the history she is making as a female director in the industry. I love what she stands for as a human being and how she’s not afraid to speak out. I have also admired Christy Altomare for years. I just love how she leads with such kindness and love, and it’s so evident that she puts so much love into her performances. I’m convinced she is one of the sweetest people on the planet, and she truly inspires me in so many ways. Some other females I really look up to are Abby DePhillips, Jenna Rich, Ariana DeBose, Denee Benton, Rachel Zegler, and many, many more. There are so many amazingly strong females in the theatre industry, that’s for sure!


Thank you to Zoe for taking the time to answer these questions!


Follow her on Instagram: @basically_broadway



80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page