top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureDresslikeBway

Celia Gooding

Updated: Oct 27, 2019


Celia Gooding made her professional acting debut in Jagged Little Pill in May 2018 at the American Repertory Theatre. Jagged Little Pill is now coming to Broadway in fall 2019!


You recently made your professional theatrical debut in Jagged Little Pill, how and when did you get into theatre?

I got into musical theater probably around the beginning of high school, ninth grade I think. I honestly was looking for an outlet that I haven’t found before and I think musical theater was the moment where everything sort of clicked in me. It felt like I was finishing a puzzle for the first time and everything sort of made sense. It was a “Oh this is what I’m supposed to do!” feeling.


How did you feel when you first got the job?

I remember it so vividly. My mom called me and told me that I had the job. I sprinted out of my school into our courtyard, I just sat on the ground, looked up at the sky and just started sobbing. My best friend came out she has the video of me just crying. I really don’t know how to describe it other than pure bliss and relief. I’ve been working on Jagged since my junior year of high school, about three years now. It was three years of pent-up energy finally releasing at once and it was the most undeniably joyous moment of my life.


How is your style similar to Frankie’s?

It changed actually after I did Jagged at ART. I really liked the way Frankie’s style looked on me so I started wearing a lot more of stuff she’d wear. I’ve always loved denim short shorts like she does so I felt really comfortable in those. we both love a good jacket and cute leather jacket I will keep in my closet all year round. She doesn’t wear heels as much as I do, I wear heeled black booties almost every day. I started incorporating more pins and buttons into my style simply because of Frankie, she‘s sort of an fashion icon for me.


What’s your go-to outfit?

It really depends on the season. Right now since it’s really cold I wear a lot of sweaters. Mostly off the shoulder sweaters, oversized sweaters, or open sweaters. Really anything that’s kind of big and droopy and makes me feel kinda small is a must. I’m always wearing either leggings or skinny jeans and you’ll never catch me without a black heeled boot. I like to follow the three C rule: cozy, casual, chic.


Who is your biggest fashion inspiration? Who is your biggest theatrical inspiration?

I wouldn’t say I have like a major fashion inspiration. I really just aspire to dress in a way that makes me feel good about myself and my body. Anybody who is able to dress however they want and feel 100% comfortable in their own skin is a huge inspiration to me. My biggest theatrical inspiration is my mother, hands-down.


Thank you so much Celia Gooding for doing this interview! You can follow her on Instagram and Twitter @Celia_Gooding

Make sure to keep an eye out for Jagged Little Pill this fall!

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page